Legislation by the General Assembly notes that home inspection is one of the many regulated professions in Indiana. This is the same in other 33 of the United States. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (or IPLA) is the body responsible for licensure, but your attention will be drawn to the Home Inspectors Licensing Board.
As an Indianan, this article will open you to the steps you need to take and operate legally as a home inspector. The focus will be on licensure by examination.
Become conversant with the state’s basic requirements
From the application instructions, the IPLA requires that you take a competency education course of at least 62 hours. The entire course is to be split in the following way:
- Classroom (or live) training should not be less than forty (40) hours.
- Field experience should not be less than twelve (12) hours.
Also, the board-approved course should cover the following areas:
- Structural components
- Exterior and interior
- Heating systems
- Plumbing systems
- Cooling systems
- Electrical systems
- Roof coverings
- State-specific Licensure Law and Report Writing
Like in many other states, Indiana has a provision for Continuing Education. But, this comes during license renewal – after you get certified. Look at the following pointers:
- If you are renewing your license after 24 months, you need to have completed 32 hours of CE.
- If you are doing your renewal between 12 and 24 months, you need to have completed 16 hours of CE.
- If your renewal is coming before a year (12 months) lapses, the Board will not require any CE.
You can explore further details of the state’s CE requirements here.
Take the home inspection course
On the ‘Licensing Information’ section of IPLA’s platform, the following list is provided, showing the approved institutions. In any of the mentioned schools, you can take the at-least 62 hours.
- Purdue University North Central
- World Inspection Network, Professional Association of Building Inspectors
- SHI Professional & Academic Services
- Sherlock Homes Inspection Service Inc.
- U S Inspect LLC
- Real Estate Certification Program
- Professional Home Inspection Institute
- Heartland Home Inspection Training Institute
- National Institute of Building Inspectors
- Home Inspector Institute
- Aardvark Home Inspection Training
- Pillar To Post
- Kaplan Professional Schools/ Inspection Training Associates
- A Better School of Building Inspection
- Penn Foster Career School
- The ASHI School
- Prairie State College
- InterNACHI- International Association of Certified Home Inspectors
- American Home Inspectors Training
- National Property Inspections, Inc.
- AmeriSpec Technical Training
- REAL University
- All American Association of Home Inspectors DBA All American Training Institute
- HomeSpection Training Institute
Do the state-approved exam
The IPLA recognizes EBPHI’s NHIE or the National Home Inspection Examination. By now, the platform that administers the test is PSI. Before sitting for the exam, you will be required to pay $225. Then, you will do 200 questions, multiple-choice style.
Complete your application
As you apply through the fill-in PDF form provided by the agency, ensure that you have taken care of the following requirements:
- Pay a registration (application) fee of $50 – payable to the IPLA (the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency).
- Attach one acceptable photograph, which should have been taken within two months of making the application.
It should be two by two inches and Should be a passport-style, that is, head and shoulders. It may be colored or black-white, but it should be of professional quality.
- Provide a certificate of general liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000.
The entity to provide the insurance should be an authorized institution operating in the state of Indiana. Importantly, you should list the state as part of the insured parties.
For more requirements, look at the application instructions. Anything unclear in this piece will get illuminated in the hyperlinked document.
Your Indiana home inspection license expires every October 1st in odd-marked years, which is technically biennially. As indicated in the form, the renewal fee is $50, and any lateness attracts a cost of $50.